Missional Romance? Jennifer Slattery gives us the inside glimpse!

I’m thrilled to introduce you to another amazing new author, Jennifer Slattery! In addition to being an excellent writer, she’s doing amazing things to reach the world with God’s heart!

Her latest release, Beyond I Do, is a terrific read, and now we get to see a glimpse behind the curtain into her life. Here’s a quick look at her bio before I introduce you. Enjoy!

headshot2013

Jennifer Slattery writes missional romance for New Hope Publishers, Christian living articles for Crosswalk.com, and devotions for Internet Café Devotions. She also maintains a personal blog at http://jenniferslatterylivesoutloud.com and writes and edits for Christ to the World Ministries, an international ministry that shares the gospel, via radio waves, with thirty-two countries.

Hi Jennifer, can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I’m a Midwestern transplant married to a handsome and hilarious railroader. We’ve got a teenage daughter that fills our home with laughter and the occasional eye roll. I love to read, have relatively little patience for movies, and believe every day must start with a ginormous amount of flavored coffee.

Now for those who haven’t read it, tell us a little bit about your latest release Beyond I Do.

BeyondIDocover

I’d love to! Beyond I Do is about a pharmaceutical representative whose quest for security caused her to lose of who God created her to be.

 Will seeing beyond the present unite them or tear them apart?

Ainsley Meadow’s encounter with a woman, her child, and their abuser sparks a passion that threatens her engagement. Will seeing beyond the present unite her and her fiancé or tear them apart? Raised by a hedonist mother, who cycles through jobs and relationships like wrapping paper on Christmas morning, falls into a predictable and safe relationship with Richard, a self-absorbed socialite psychiatrist. But as her wedding nears, a battered woman and her child spark a long-forgotten dream and ignites a hidden passion. One that threatens to change everything, including her fiancé. To embrace God’s best and find true love, this security-seeking bride must follow God with reckless abandon and realize that marriage goes Beyond I Do.

Who/What spurs you to write? Where do your story and character ideas come from?

Writing very much comes directly from my relationship with God. I really believe He gives me the inspiration, and I can sense His abiding presence as I write. I especially love it when He leads me to a verse or passage that speaks hope to my characters and to me. He’s great at reaching us both at the same time!

What are you currently reading? I just finished Unplanned by Abby Johnson. Wow, that was a tough book, but also inspiring, especially the last chapter when she connected all the God-dots. It reminded me to keep doing whatever it is He is calling me to do, trusting He’s working out His eternal picture at every moment.

Is there a recognizable quality in your books, which makes them distinctly your own? Yep! I write missional romance, which means there’s always an outreach/missional angle. Because I’m all about outreach. After all, that’s the whole reason we Christians are still here, right?

I’m expecting big picture edits to come through on my second book, When Dawn Breaks, this month, so I’m excited about that. Here’s a bit about that book:

Jacqueline wants purpose and restitution, but must she relinquish her chance of love to find it?

A hurricane forces Jacqueline to evacuate. Looking to begin again—and reconnect with her embittered daughter—Jacqueline heads north. Reconciliation is hard, but she has a handsome new friend to lean on. Most importantly, she knows God is standing beside her.

When her daughter rejects her, three children abandoned by their mother open their hearts. But can God use a woman who dashed the hopes of her own child to bring hope to someone else’s? 

Thank you so much for having me!

Thanks, Jennifer! I’m glad you stopped by!

And now for the readers… it’s your turn to share comments, tidbits, or other questions you have for Jennifer!  Just CLICK THE PINK HEART,  and leave a comment!

5 thoughts on “Missional Romance? Jennifer Slattery gives us the inside glimpse!

  1. Pingback: If God’s Not in This… | Jennifer Slattery Lives Out Loud

Leave a comment