I (heart) history – Sandra Merville Hart shares the research that brings her writing to life!

I’m honored to introduce you to another amazing author, Sandra Merville Hart! She writes Historical Romance in the Civil War time period – one that’s always fascinated me.

Her latest release, A Stranger on My Land, is a great novella, and now we get to see a glimpse behind the curtain into her life. Here’s a quick look at her bio before I introduce you. Enjoy!

KCP06 (1)

 

Sandra Merville Hart loves to find unusual facts in her historical research to use in her stories. She and her husband enjoy traveling to many of the sites in her books to explore the history. She serves as Assistant Editor for DevoKids.com where she contributes articles about history and holidays. She has written for several publications and websites including The Secret Place, Harpstring, Splickety Magazine, Pockets Magazine, Common Ground, Afictionado, and ChristianDevotions.us. Her inspirational Civil War novella, A Stranger on My Land, released on August 21, 2014.  It’s available on Amazon at  http://www.amazon.com/dp/1941103278

Hi Sandra! For those who haven’t read it, tell us a little bit about your latest release A Stranger on My Land. I love how the cover is a sneak peek into the story!

perf5.000x8.000.indd

My inspirational Civil War novella, A Stranger on My Land, released on August 21, 2014. Carrie and her little brother, Jay, find Adam, a wounded Union soldier, on their land after a battle near their Lookout Mountain home. Carrie takes Adam to the cave where her family has been hiding from the soldiers. Before long, she falls in love with him, but she can’t save his life. He requires a surgeon. Carrie weighs the potential danger of revealing her family’s hideaway with saving Adam’s life.

What was your inspiration behind this novella?

While researching for another Civil War novel, I read many biographies and diaries of soldiers from both sides. Among the surprises were many instances of families in the South living in caves for safety when the armies marched into town. The soldiers remarked about how cozy the women made these dwellings. When I discovered that some families on Lookout Mountain moved into caves, the idea for my story was born.

What made you begin writing Historical Fiction?

I love to read historical romance novels, especially when it gives natural glimpses into the way things used to be. My love for writing this type of book sprang from a love of history.

What spurs you to write?  

I actually get depressed when I can’t write. After a week’s vacation, I’m ready to get back to my current writing project. Writing feeds my spirit. I really enjoy it.

I can so relate to that! When God instills the gift of writing inside you, writing becomes part of what keeps you sane! What are you currently reading?

I have a stack of over ten books waiting for me to read. I will either read The Redemption of Caralynne Hayman by Carole Brown, A Little Bit of Charm by Mary Ellis, or The First Christmas Carol by Marianne Jordan as my next “for pleasure” read. It seems almost all of my reading is research related these days.

Where’s the strangest place you’ve ever had a great writing idea?

Some ideas have come to me just as I’m waking up in the morning. You know, that kind of half-awake, half-asleep state before you crawl out of bed. It seems the creative part of my brain keeps churning away while I’m sleeping and I often wake up with fresh ideas.

What is your next project?

My next novel will be another Civil War romance. It will be set in Gettysburg, a place that has captured my imagination. I’m planning a trip to Gettysburg to research for it. A beautiful seamstress and a war-weary soldier would never meet if not for the battle that raged outside her Gettysburg home.

Thanks, Sandra! It was great to talk with you!

And now for the readers… it’s your turn to share comments, tidbits, or other questions you have for Sandra!  Just CLICK THE PINK HEART,  and leave a comment!

4 thoughts on “I (heart) history – Sandra Merville Hart shares the research that brings her writing to life!

  1. I am so totally thrilled and happy for Sandy! I’m sure her book, which I haven’t read yet, but will, is going to make her the author to watch in the coming months. Best to you, my friend!

    Like

  2. Congratulations on your new release. My grandparents had a Civil War fort on their farm. It was like a great big hole. I imagine men lying on their stomachs shooting at the enemy. Like many families in Kentucky, our family must have been divided. They rarely talked about the war. I did inherit a dresser that was hidden in the chicken coop and survived the war. It’s beautiful and in great shape.

    Your story sounds great. Again, congratulations!

    Like

  3. Wow, Jackie, what a great Civil War story passed down in your family! I would have walked there and imagined the same things you did. It’s pretty special that the dresser survived because they went to special lengths to hide it. Regardless of intrinsic value, what a treasure!
    Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a comment