Spies and Spunky Heroines – The inside scoop from Author Carole Brown!

It’s a pleasure to introduce you to another amazing and accomplished author, Carole Brown 

Her debut novel, The Redemption of Caralynne Hayman, has finaled in multiple awards, and I’m so excited to have her on the blog today! 

CaroleAug14 (14) cropped

Carole loves to weave suspense and tough topics into her books, along with a touch of romance and whimsy, and is always on the lookout for outstanding titles and catchy ideas. She and her husband reside in SE Ohio but have ministered and counseled nationally and internationally. Together, they enjoy their grandsons, traveling, gardening, good food, the simple life, and did she mention their grandsons?

So grab a mug of coffee, your chocolate of choice, and enjoy!

Hi Carole, can you tell us a little bit about your latest release, With Music In Their Hearts?

WMITH Bk Cover small-Modified earrings

Love to!! Angry at being rejected for military service, Minister Tyrell Walker accepts the call to serve as a civilian spy within his own country. Across the river from Cincinnati, Ohio, a spy working for a foreign country is stealing secret plans for newly developed ammunition to be used in the war. According to his FBI cousin, this spy favors pink stationery giving strong indications that a woman is involved.

He’s instructed to obtain a room in the Rayner Boarding House run by the lovely, spunky red-haired Emma Jaine Rayner. Sparks of jealousy and love fly between them immediately, even as they battle suspicions that one or the other is not on the up and up.

As Tyrell works to keep his double life a secret and locate the traitor, he refuses to believe that Emma Jaine could be involved even when he sees a red-haired woman in the arms of another man. Could the handsome and svelte banker who’s also determined to win Emma Jaine’s hand for marriage, be the dangerous man he’s looking for? Is the trouble-making renter who hassles Emma Jaine serving as a flunky? Worse, is Papa Rayner so worried about his finances and keeping his girls in the style they’re used to, that he’ll stoop to espionage?

Will their love survive the danger and personal issues that arise to hinder the path of true love?

It’s available on Kindle or in Print!

What was your inspiration behind this novel?

We knew a minister who served during WWII. It was said “he was a civilian spy.” He never confirmed it or denied it as far as we knew, but it made for a fabulous plot. My mother served as the inspiration behind the character of Emma Jaine Rayner. She gave me the interest and love of the period by passing on stories and sharing pictures. I fell in love with the 1940s!

What spurs you to write? 

I’ve always believed in doing what you love to do. It makes me sad to see people “slaving” away at jobs they dislike (although I certainly understand that circumstances can prevent any other action). Since a child I’ve loved books and from elementary school up, I’ve written–from the first item I remember–a caveman family’s journal–to suspense and mystery children books and now to penning my own suspense and mystery books. Why would I do anything but what I love?

Which of your characters most reflects your personality?

Probably Emma Jaine. I wanted her to show gumption and determined to see her boarding house business succeed–and I like to do all I can to succeed with what I attempt.  I also gave her a loving and caring heart for her family and the others in the boarding home–and I’ve been told I’m a very caring person. Sometimes though it’s hard to see that what are good qualities can also be used wrongly. Emma Jaine was so determined to care for her sisters and her father that what she thought they ought to do and pursue became a selfish act.

Is there a recognizable quality in your books, which makes them distinctly your own?

I think so. Although I write suspense, I like to give a touch of sweet romance and a touch of whimsy when possible. I’m not a big fan of lots of romance in books so coaxing my couples into even a light kiss is quite an accomplishment for this author. Having said that, I do believe Christian romance will give a book a human, sweet touch that lightens a mood and leaves a satisfied taste in the reader’s mind.

The whimsical part comes in with odd happenings or items. For example, in one of my novels I have a very unique pet for the protagonist. The pet (or so the protagonist believes) has the ability to help her with her detecting. (You can decide for yourself, if you ever read the book!)  In my mysteries, I give the male protagonist a grouchy personality with a love of words and fishing. Although cranky he adores his wife. His attitude and way he approaches their mysteries is endearing.

What is your next project?

  • Release date for the second book in my Alex and Denton Davies cozy mystery series is planned for late winter, 2015.
  • I also am working on Book 2 of the “Spies of WWII” series, called, “A Flute in the Willows.” It’s about the second daughter, Josephine Rayner Patterson, who is quite different than her older sister and quite capable of getting into more than a little bit of trouble.
  • And, of course, I have other books I’m working on as I’m able, including a contemporary suspense series and a 1800s very light suspense book.

Wow, you’re a busy lady! Thanks for taking a few minutes to stop by and chat with us!

And now for the readers… it’s your turn to share comments, tidbits, or other questions you have for Carole!  Just CLICK THE PINK HEART,  and leave a comment!

5 thoughts on “Spies and Spunky Heroines – The inside scoop from Author Carole Brown!

  1. Hi Misty and Carole! I love the sound of this story. How amazing to think about a minister as a spy. History is fascinating, and it looks like you’ve taken it to write a great story. Congrats, Carole!

    Like

Leave a comment