Always Content? You’re Crazy!!!

So much has happened in the past month, I’m sorry I’ve been remiss in posting on my blog!

I’m excited to say my debut novel, The Lady and the Mountain Man, is off to a good start, selling over 700 copies in its first six weeks!

God has blessed it and I’m so very thankful!

It’s been a busy year for us, with lots of ups and downs. For me, it’s easy to follow the emotional roller coaster, but I’d like to share something God’s been teaching me lately. Sometimes I can be hard-headed, so when God wants me to learn one of His truths, He often has to use lots of in-direct and very-direct object lessons. 

He’s been teaching me to be content in any situation.

In Philippians, Paul says he “learned in whatever state I am, to be content.” (4:11b) But that’s so much harder than he makes it sound!

Whether the finances are overflowing, or things are tighter than a snug tow-rope, I’m to be content??

Whether I’m snuggled with my daughters reading them a bedtime book, or sitting in a hospital operating room waiting for the doctor to discuss results of my husband’s emergency surgery, I’m to be content??

How in the world do I do that?

Is it simply mind over matter? Repeat over and over to myself that I WILL be content, doggone it? …if it’s the last thing I do!

But Paul gives the secret, a few verses down: “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” (vs. 13)

What God has deeply impressed in my spirit, is that contentment requires a combination of Him and me. It is a state of mind.

I have to choose to be content – in every situation that comes. But He gives me the strength do to it. And the peace.

So now, every day, I pray for God’s strength to be content in every situation. To trust so fully on Him that I don’t have to worry. And I pray for His peace.

And I can report that God is faithful! Even when I don’t do such a good job with my part – the choosing to be content. He comes through with His peace and His strength.

 

So that’s my update, what about you? What has God been teaching you lately? Leave a comment below; I’d love to hear!

 

4 thoughts on “Always Content? You’re Crazy!!!

Leave a Reply

