Lillian Duncan – Murder, Mayhem, Mystery – Oh My!

I’m excited to introduce you to another amazing Christian author, Lillian Duncan! I love her tagline: Stories of faith mingled with murder & mayhem!  So pull up a chair, settle in with a mug of coffee or chocolate, and enjoy a behind-the-scenes chat with Lillian Duncan!

lil2011c (1)

Hi Lillian, can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I’m very happily married, was a school speech-language pathologist for more than 30 years. I’m now retired and blessed to be able to focus full time on my writing.

Now, can you tell us a little bit about your latest release, Redemption?

Redemption_h11626_300

Others may think Jamie Jakowski is a hero, but she knows differently.

Haunted by her past, she seeks redemption by helping others in spite of the danger to herself. However, after almost orphaning her daughter, Jamie opts to retire. When a friend needs her, Jamie agrees to one last undercover operation.

She is determined to reunite a heartbroken mother with her kidnapped son. Used to working alone, Jamie’s not happy when she’s assigned a partner. And after a failed operation and their failed romance, Enrique Rodriguez is the last person she wants to work with—ever.

To succeed, Jamie must confront her past as well as the people who want her dead.

REDEMPTION is the third and final book in my Sisters by Choice series. It brings the series full circle and gives closure for those who’ve read all three books, but can be enjoyed even if you haven’t read the others. Full disclosure demands I give a warning that you’ll probably want to read the others after you read this one!

What was your inspiration behind this novel?

Jamie is missing in the first book-DECEPTION. And in REDEMPTION, we come to learn more about Jamie and her spiritual struggles. But the main story is about a missing child who Jamie is determined to find—no matter the danger to herself.

What made you begin writing in your genre?

It’s the sort of story I love to read. Lots of suspense and lots of romance! Who wouldn’t love a book like that?

What spurs you to write? Where do your story and character ideas come from?

My love of stories keeps me writing. The ideas and characters can come from most anywhere and at any time. I never know when that next story will pop into my consciousness.

What are you currently reading?

I’m reading a story for a friend who’s asked for an endorsement. The story is a glimpse into the life of German Baptists.

Where’s the strangest place you’ve ever had a great writing idea?

On vacation! Doesn’t matter what sort of vacation. Apparently rest and relaxation is good for creativity!

Which of your characters most reflects your personality?

Maven Morris without a doubt. She’s a crime-fighting speech pathologist featured in my DEADLY COMMUNICATION series. Like me, she’s a speech pathologist, short and has Bell’s palsy. Unlike me, she’s very nosy and adventurous. That means trouble for her!

Name one crazy thing you’ve done that is sure to surprise us.

I’ve recently taken up hula-hooping as part of my exercise regime!

I love it! Is there a recognizable quality in your books, which makes them distinctly your own?

My books are sort of like the Energizer bunny–they start out with a bang and just keep going and going!

What’s one of your favourite parts about being an author? What do you like the least?

Everything! It took me 15 years to get my first contract so I love being a writer. My least favourite thing is marketing. I’m an introvert and so it’s not easy marketing myself—but I’m getting better at it.

What’s your next project?

Nowhere to Belong, the third in my Deadly Communication series, should be released early next year. Along with that I’m working on the third book in the series.

Thanks, Lillian! And did I hear a rumor that you’re doing a fun GIVEAWAY?

Yes! To celebrate the release of REDEMPTION, I’m giving away a $25 Amazon Gift Card. But wait…there’s more! I always feel bad for the people who enter the contest but don’t win. So I’m also going to pick FIVE more lucky names to win a $5 Amazon Gift Card. Just the right amount to buy REDEMPTION! Just kidding, the winners can use it to buy whatever they wish.

So hop on over to TIARAS & TENNIS SHOES at www.lillian-duncan.com  to enter. Leave a comment on the post REDEMPTION and you’ll be entered to win.

And now for the readers… it’s your turn to share comments, tidbits, or other questions you have for Lillian!  Just CLICK THE PINK HEART,  and leave a comment!

2 thoughts on “Lillian Duncan – Murder, Mayhem, Mystery – Oh My!

Leave a Reply

