A Journey Without Borders

Spirit, lead me where my trust is without borders. Let me walk upon the waters, wherever you would call me.

These words (from the Hillsong song Oceans) have been my prayer – my mantra – for the past year. In all areas of my life, but especially my writing journey.

I’ve always loved books, and reading, and the power of the written word, but I never really imagined myself a writer. There was no way I had anything close to the talent of a real Author. Right?

old books

But a couple of years ago, I was doing some soul searching. Making a list of things that were important to me and what I wanted to do before I exit this crazy life – a bucket list you might call it. “Write a book that is actually published” made it to the list, and thus my journey began.

I won’t go into all the details here of my rough initiation into the art and craft of storytelling, but I will say that I found my passion. I discovered my love for writing. Pouring words onto a page and seeing how they weave themselves into images and scenes and stories that could touch people.

road

And as my journey continued, I realized that this love and passion for writing was a gift that God had placed in me. He began to open doors for me in places I’d never imagined. Doors that I didn’t know existed.

And through this expedition into publishing, I have learned that amazing things do happen when God is leading. The major challenge for me, however, lies in reining in my controlling nature. I’ve finally diagnosed myself as a control-freak, and they say the first step to recovery is acknowledging the problem. So “trust without borders” has become my daily prayer. Lord, please help me to rely completely on You to make things happen. Not to constrain You by my limited hopes and dreams. I’m so excited to be sharing this trek with you. And now I’d love to hear about your own journey!

Where is God taking you that you never would have imagined?

2 thoughts on “A Journey Without Borders

  1. Faith is a noun but trust is a verb that takes work. I love that God wants us to trust Him completely. And sometimes, He doesn’t give us a choice. LOL And when that happens, I choose to trust. Like I did during my 11 year journey to publication. ;o)

    Like

    • Oh, that’s so true, Ane. After 11 years, you could probably write a book on trust!

      All in God’s timing is so much easier said than done, but it’s truly amazing where He’ll take us if we let him.

      Like

Leave a Reply

